top of page

Pre-order: To be shipped in publication month October 2024

Winner of the SI Leeds Reader's Choice Award 2022.

From the Orange Prize long listed author of 'Strange Music'


A gripping story of exploitation and cultural collision...

Leaving Oxford and the shocking death of her father behind, Koliwe travels to AIDS-ravaged Eswatini to take a job as an aid worker. The Southern Africa she encounters is a far cry from her father’s stories.


As she becomes enmeshed with Thandi, a local girl hiding a disturbing past, Koliwe feels increasingly split between her English identity and her rediscovered African roots.


When Thandi goes missing, Koliwe's search for truth leads her deep into the mountains, where the harsh realities of wealth, poverty, tradition and modernity, clash.


Harrowing yet richly evocative, Lying Perfectly Still provides an insider's perspective on the horrors enabled by parts of the international aid community.



About the Author:


Laura Fish is an award-winning writer of Caribbean heritage. She is a graduate of the MA in Creative Writing programme at UEA (2002) and was awarded a PhD in Creative and Critical Writing from UEA (2007).
Her third novel, Lying Perfectly Still, was S I Leeds Reader’s Choice winner 2022, and came third in the S I Leeds Literary Prize 2022.
Her second novel, Strange Music (Jonathan Cape 2008; Vintage 2009, now available was Orange Prize listed 2009; International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award nominated 2009; selected for Pearson Edexcel's Black British Writing A level reading guide 2017/18; is taught on university courses internationally. Her first novel, Flight of Black Swans (London: Duckworth 1995) received very favourable reviews in The Guardian, the Evening Standard, and Times Literary Supplement.
Since 2014, Laura has been employed at Northumbria University


Lying Perfectly Still by Laura Fish

Will ship in publication month October 2024

    Best sellers

    bottom of page